Country Holidays

Natura 2000 - Protected Marine Territories

juras teritorijas
Protected Marine Territories

There are plans to set up seven new protected marine territories in order to protect birds and reefs along the Latvian seashore – "Nida-Pērkone", "Akmeņrags-Pāvilosta", "The Irbe Narrows", "The Western Shore of the Bay of Rīga", "Open Sea to the West of Tūja", "Vitrupe-Tūja", and "Ainaži-Salacgrīva". This is to protect biotopes at the bottom of the sea, as well as different species of birds. At this time, the Cabinet of Ministers is considering these new protected marine territories, and more detailed information will follow once the territories are approved.

Find a list of protected marine territories here