No Name Description
N/A

Befindet sich im alten Rathaus. Das größte Silberkunstwerk Baltikums (wiegt mehr als 30 kg) und andere dekorative Gegenstände sind zu sehen. Auf der Dachkammer ist die einmalige Malerei im Stil des Spätrokoko zu sehen.

N/A
The Lapmežciems Museum features information about the history of the local parish, its school and its fishing industry. There are also exhibits featuring World War I battles near Klapkalnciems which involved Finnish soldiers. The museum also organises theme­based exhibitions. Alongside it is a memorial rock for the politically repressed.
N/A

On the banks of the Venta River is a treasure of wooden architecture – the so-called Bangerts Villa, which relates to romantic stories and legends and was recently restored.  It is said that a man known as Captain Bangerts bought the villa as a gift to present to his Parisian bride.  The Kuldīga Administrative District Museum has been in the building since 1940.  Since reconstruction, unique wall paintings and other interior design details have been restored, and the flat of the Bangerts family allows people to see how wealthy residents of the city lived in the early 20th century.  Also on display are some of the sets of playing cards that have been collected by Jānis Mētra.

N/A

The museum has more than 120,000 objects which focus on the history of Liepāja and Southern Kurzeme from the Stone Age to the 19th century.  Another exhibition is focused on the life and work of the wood sculptor Miķelis Pankoks (1894-1983).  New art exhibitions are periodically staged at the museum.

N/A

Located in a cultural centre at Brīvības Street 15 in Ogre, the museum was established in 1980 and has a permanent exhibition, “Ogre – a Swimming and Air Spa, Relaxation and Everyday Life, 1920-1940,” which offers a good look at the “golden age” of Ogre, when it was a popular spa.  Another exhibition, “Legendary Ogre” offers a different view.  Visit the museum to find out what it is!

 

N/A

The museum at Valdemāra Street 47 was opened in 1969 in the building of the maritime school that was opened in 1864 at the suggestion of Krišjānis Valdemārs.  The school trained more than 1,000 sea captains and helmsmen.  The exhibition at the museum relates to the operations of the school, as well as the building of sailing ships on the Vidzeme shoreline during the latter half of the 19th century and the early part of the 20th century.  There is a collection of anchors, as well as the top of the Ainaži lighthouse, which was once washed away by the sea, but has been restored.

N/A

Pilsrundālē pa ceļam uz Rundāles pili var apmeklēt Retro auto kolekciju, kur apskatāmi 1939. g. automobiļi un dažādu laiku motocikli. Starp automobiļiem ir arī pasaulē šodien reti sastopami modeļi. Šī ir īstā vieta vēsturisko spēkratu cienītājiem!

N/A

“Riekstiņi” is a farm 6 km from Nereta at which the outstanding Latvian writer and painter Jānis Jaunsudrabiņš (1877-1962) spent six years of his childhood. The people of the farm became prototypes for characters in his “White Book,” in which he called the farm “Mūsmājas.” A museum was opened at Riekstiņi in 1967, and it is in an authentic single-family Selonian farm with a specific spirit and scent.

N/A

The Daugavpils Mark Rothko Art Centre is a multi-functional institution of culture, arts and education, located inside of the fortress' Arsenal building. It is a unique place in the Eastern Europe, where are located the original paintings of Mark Rothko – a great artist of the XX cent., a founder of the abstract expressionism movement, best known for his enigmatic color field paintings.

N/A

This is one of the oldest museums in Vidzeme and features interesting discoveries from the Middle Ages and the Iron Age, some of which were found around Lake Lubāna. Employees organise thematic exhibitions related to the culture and history of the administrative district, as well as art exhibitions.  The museum is in the historical buildings of the former Birži Estate.

N/A

Ethnographic and household storage in Sarkaņi offers craft tools collection, furniture and household collection, 19th and the end of the 20th century living room furnishings, and the exhibition dedicated to Madona countrymen. (Source: Madona TIC)

N/A
Latgale Farmstead „Mežmalas”. The owners of the farmstead created an interesting collection of the old household items, tools and equipment of the 19th and 20th century. The visitors are offered to try plainting of the scale basket. Sale of baskets and herbal tea. Enjoy walking along the energetic path through the pine forest.
Working hours: on request
N/A
The Museum of Dekšāri was opened in 1996. Exposition includes materials about the history of the rural municipality, school and collective farms, biography of prominent people who contributed to the area, also the collection of Latgalian literature.
Working hours: Mon– Fri : 10.00 – 14.00, Sat., Sunday : closed
N/A

It is the bicycle collection of father and son Jānis and Guntis Seregins, which is the only collection of antique bicycles in Latvia. They have been collecting cycles since 1977 when they joined the Antique Automobile Club and became fascinated with Latvia’s cycling traditions. The collection’s core is formed from technically unusual bicycles. In total, the museum has approximately 70 Latvian-made and used bicycles. Besides bicycles there are many other pieces of cycling ephemera relating to sport, cycle clubs and bicycle production. The museum has an extensive collection of bicycle brands, bringing together 1000 badges from all over the world. Guided excursions available.

N/A

Atrodas Rīgas ielā 8 – skaistā, 1883. g. celtā jūgendstila ēkā . Muzejs (viens no Latgales lielākajiem un vecākajiem) tajā darbojas no 1959. g. (pats muzejs dibināts 1938. g.) un tā krājums vēsta par Daugavpils un tās apkārtnes vēsturiskajiem notikumiem. Tajā regulāri tiek rīkotas arī tematiskās izstādes, piedāvātas muzejpedagoģiskas programmas. Te vēl var apskatīt Daugavpilī dzimušā un pasaulē pazīstamā mākslinieka Marka Rotko (1903. – 1970.) gleznu reprodukcijas, kuras no 2013. gada plānots pārcelt uz M. Rotko centru Daugavpils cietoksnī.

N/A

Found at Daugavpils Street 40 in Aglona, this is one of the largest private collections of military exhibits related to World War II in Latvia, with more than 1,000 objects arranged as a museum.  Visitors can see pistols, rifles, machine guns, mines, hand grenades, uniforms, military equipment, etc.  The owner is an enthusiast about history, Valdis Tumovs.

 

 

N/A

Between 1883 and 1891, the estate that was once owned by the Šadurskis family was rented by the father of the great poet Rainis, Krišjānis Pliekšāns.  Rainis spent his youth at the estate, as reflected in the poet’s The Land of My Youth Days.  Rainis translated Pushkin’s Boris Godunov while at the state.  In honour of the poet and his contributions in the world of literature, an exhibition, “Rainis’ High School and University Years,” was opened at the estate in 1964.  The restored cattle shed today offers a look at the work of potters in Latgale.

N/A

The museum set up in 1982 presents life and activity of the region from the late 19th C to the recent past. Temporary exhibitions are held in the barn and more than 200 species of trees and shrubs can be viewed in the parkland extending over 17 ha. Themed events include baking bread, celebrations of folk holidays are frequently arranged. From the museum visitors can access Velise cultural and natural heritage trail.

N/A

Pirms dodamies tālāk – Skaistkalnes virzienā, var izmest nelielu loku līdz Lejeniekiem, kas atrodas skaistā vietā – Mēmeles kreisajā krastā, 6 km austrumos no Bauskas. Latviešu dzejnieka Viļa Plūdoņa (1874. – 1940.) memoriālais muzejs dibināts 1968. g. viņa dzimtajās mājās „Lejeniekos”. Zemgales daba un vecmātes stāsti būtiski ietekmēja nākamā dzejnieka daiļradi. Šeit nokļuvušie var apskatīt ratu un etnogrāfisko priekšmetu kolekciju, izstaigāt Plūdoņa taku vai apmeklēt dzejnieka un viņa radinieku atdusas vietu netālu esošajos kapos. Bērniem noteikti jāiegriežas “Zaķīšu pirtiņā”.

N/A

Das einzige Museum solcher Art im Baltikum. Das Ziel des Museums besteht darin, die Mensch(und litauisches Volk)-Kosmos-Beziehung zu zeigen. Ausbildungsprogramme, mythologische Steine.